The Robert Everett Exceptional Leadership in Student Governance Award

The Robert Everett Exceptional Leadership in Student Governance Award recognizes and celebrates students who have made a valuable and significant contribution to the governance of York University.

Established in 2018, this award is named in honour of Dr. Robert Everett, a distinguished Senior Assistant Secretary of the University, who made extraordinary contributions supporting University governance for nearly three decades.

Who can be nominated?

Full-time undergraduate or graduate students with an active registration in a University program who have:

  • actively and constructively participated in University governance at the Senate, Board of Governors and/or Faculty Council levels;
  • embodied a strong spirit of collegiality, inclusiveness and commitment in their approach to governance;
  • exhibited leadership in performing the duties of their role; and
  • made meaningful contributions to governance as a student.

Nominators for this award can be any member of the York University community; however, self-nominations are not permitted.

Recipients will be honoured at an award reception and receive both a framed certificate and recognition on a plaque.

Nomination package must include:

  • A completed Nomination Form
  • 1 to 2-page nomination letter that speaks to:
    • the nominee’s willingness to assume leadership in governance activities;
    • the amount of effort expended, particularly that beyond normal expectations of the role;
    • the quality of effort made (intensity, extensiveness, complexity);
    • the impact made, attributable to the nominee’s efforts;
    • the collegial and inclusive approach taken in collaborations; and
    • the commitment taken to foster student perspectives to help shape University decisions.
  • Up to 3 additional reference letters (no more than 2 pages each) should be included in the package, and at least one of the letters must be from a current York University student.

2020  Award Recipients

Name Faculty Year
Kimiko CLARK Glendon College 2020
Michelle Cobblah Liberal Arts and Professional Studies 2020
Moboluwajidide (Bo) JOSEPH Glendon College 2020


Please e-mail us at