Senate meeting


The Senate is responsible for the University’s academic policy. Its broad powers include regulating standards for admission, determining the contents and curricula of all courses of study, establishing requirements for graduation, conducting examinations and appointing examiners, and conferring degrees. There are up to 168 elected and ex-officio members of Senate who are representative of the University community. Much of its business is carried out through committees which report to the Senate at regular meetings.

COVID-19: Information and Decisions Pertaining to Academic Activities


Senate meetings take place normally on the fourth Thursday of each month from 3:00 to 5:00 pm in the Dr. Robert Everett Senate Chamber, N940 Ross Building, Keele Campus.

By decision of the Chair and in accordance with The York University Rules of Senate, Senate meetings will be held through audio / video conferencing commencing with the 23 April 2020 meeting and throughout the period the University is operating in the required services mode. These virtual meetings will be limited to Senators to ensure both a secure and manageable setting. However, the meetings will be recorded and the recording briefly posted on the Senate website after the meeting for the York community to view / hear the proceedings. We trust the community understands the need for the adjustment to the normal process, and express appreciation for your understanding.



Standing committees and sub-committees of Senate have been established to assist Senate in carrying out its mandate, as follows:

Senate Elections