Composition of Senate

The membership of Senate reflects the University’s main academic structures (Faculties and units). The composition of Senate is determined by the The York University Act, 1965.  Senate rules, procedures and guidelines set out the detailed composition of Senate membership in The Senate of York University Rules, Procedures and Guidelines, Section B: Membership of Senate.

Membership of Senate 2016-2017

Total 167

Ex Officio Members (20)

Faculty Elected by Councils (99)

  • Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies (40)
  • Faculty of Health (11)
  • Faculty of Education (4)
  • Faculty of Environmental Studies (4)
  • Faculty of Fine Arts (8)
  • Glendon College (8)
  • Lassonde School of Engineering (5)
  • Osgoode Hall Law School (4)
  • Schulich School of Business (6)
  • Faculty of Science (9)

Elected Librarians and Archivists (2)

Student Representatives (28)

Chairs of Senate Committees (estimated at 5)

Other Members (13)

Senate Members