Membership of Senate 2019-2020

Ex-Officio Members

Gregory Sorbara Chancellor

Rhonda Lenton President and Vice Chancellor

Ian RobergeInterim PrincipalDominique Scheffel-DunandInterim Principal

Alice J. Hovorka

Sarah Bay-Cheng

Dean

Dezsö Horváth

Dean

Esaias van Rensburg Interim Dean

Paul McDonald Dean Lyndon Martin Dean

John-Justin McMurtry Interim Dean

Thomas Loebel Dean

Mary Condon Interim Dean

Jane Goodyer Dean

Carol McAulay Vice-President Finance and Administration
Lisa Philipps Provost and Vice-President Academic
Rui Wang Vice-President, Research and Innovation

Jeffery O'Hagan Vice President, Advancement

Joy Kirchner Dean, Libraries
Paul Tsaparis Chair of the Board
Bobbie White Board Member

Faculty Elected by Council (99)

(NOTE: Elected terms are from July 1 to June 30)

Arts, Media, Performance& Design (7)

William Mackwood

June 30, 2020

John Mayberry

June 30, 2020

Marlis Schweitzer

June 30, 2020

Magdalena Kazubowski-Houston David Cabianca Barbara Evans David Gelb	June 30, 2021 June 30, 2021 June 30, 2021 June 30, 2022
Faculty of Education (4) Roopa Desai-Trilokekar Lisa Farley	Term End June 30,2020 June 30,2020
Faculty of Environmental Studies (4) Anna Zalik Jose Etcheverry	Term End June 30, 2020 June 30, 2021
Glendon College (8)	Term End
Hossam Ali-Hassan Tim Moore Maria Guzman Amie Avolonto Lee Frew	June 30, 2020 June 30, 2020 June 30, 2020 June 30, 2021 June 30, 2021
Faculty of Health (12)	Term End
Mazen Hamadeh	June 30, 2020
Angelo Belcastro	June 30, 2020
Monique Herbert	June 30, 2020
Judith MacDonnell	June 30, 2020
Heather Edgell	June 30, 2020
Oliver Birot	June 30, 2020
Beryl Pilkington	June 30, 2020
Shahirose Premji	June 30, 2021
Marina Morrow	June 30, 2021
Shayna Rosenbaum	June 30, 2022
Sherry Grace	June 30, 2022
Lassonde School of Engineering (7)	Term End
Alex Czekanski	June 30, 2020
George Tourlakis	June 30, 2020

George Zhu June 30, 2021

Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies (37)	Term End
Richard Wellen	June 30, 2020
Joanne Magee	June 30, 2020
Andrea Medovarski	June 30, 2020
Ruth Koleszar-Green	June 30, 2020
Andrea Davis	June 30, 2020
David Mutimer	June 30, 2020
Thabit Abdullah	June 30, 2020
Sotirios Liaskos	June 30, 2020
Kim Michasiw	June 30, 2020
Lesley Wood	June 30, 2020
Shubhra Gururani	June 30, 2021
Bonita Lawrence	June 30, 2021
Anne MacLennan	June 30, 2021
Robert Myers	June 30, 2021
Maurice Poon	June 30, 2021
Markus Reisenleitner	June 30, 2021
Leslie Sanders	June 30, 2021
Ricardo Grinspun	June 30, 2021
Nelson Waweru	June 30, 2022
Kin Chung Lo	June 30, 2022
Frances Latchford	June 30, 2022
Philip Kelly	June 30, 2022
Parbudyal Singh	June 30, 2022
Uwafiokun Idemudia	June 30, 2022
Nirupama Agrawal	June 30, 2022
Kymberley Bird	June 30, 2022
Gail Vanstone	June 30, 2022
Nergis Canefe	June 30, 2022
Natalie Neill	June 30, 2022
Shobna Nijhawan	June 30, 2022
Ron Ophir	June 30, 2022
Robert Zacharias	June 30, 2022
Maria Joao Dodman	June 30, 2022

Elizabeth Pentland	June 30, 2022
--------------------	---------------

Schulich School of Business (5)	Term End
Richard Irving	June 30, 2020
Marcia Annisette	June 30, 2020
Detlev Zwick	June 30, 2021
Dirk Matten	June 30, 2022
Kevin Tassa	June 30, 2022
Faculty of Science (10)	Term End
Eric Hessels	June 30,2022
Ernst Hamm	June 30,2022
William Pietro	June 30,2022
Patricia Lakin Thomas	June 30,2022
Paul Szeptycki	June 30,2022
Rene Fournier	June 30,2022
Julie Clark	June 30,2022
Thomas Baumgartner	June 30,2021
Robert Tsushima	June 30,2021
Derek Wilson	June 30,2021
Osgoode Hall Law School (4)	Term End
Ruth Buchanan	June 30, 2020
Dan Priel	June 30, 2020
Bruce Ryder	June 30, 2021
Yemisi Dina	June 30, 2020
Elected Librarians and Archivists (2)	Term End
William Denton	June 30, 2020
William Denton	Julie 30, 2020
Student Representatives (28)	Term End
Undergraduate:	
Adam Garisto, Arts, Media, Performance& Design	June 30,2021
Muhammad Abdulhafiz, Education	June 30,2020
Emily MacKinnon, Education	June 30,2020
•	Julio 30,2020
York University Secretariat	

Jean-Pierre D'Angelo, Glendon	June 30,2020
Jay Patel, Glendon	June 30,2020
Michelle Cobblah, Liberal Arts & Professional Studies,	June 30,2020
Keith Davis, Liberal Arts & Professional Studies	June 30,2020
Aqsa Khalil, Liberal Arts & Professional Studies	June 30,2020
Amanat Khullar, Liberal Arts & Professional Studies	June 30,2020
Naemat Khurana, Liberal Arts & Professional Studies	June 30,2020
Robert Cheung, Science	June 30,2020
Fatima Babiker, York Federation of Students	June 30,2021
Monica Peav, Schulich School of Business	June 30,2021
Panzi Fotoothi	June 30,2021
Rodolfo Lastimosa	June 30,2021
Graduate	
Lina Nasr El Hag Ali, Graduate Studies	June 30,2020
Alia Karim, Graduate Students Association	June 30,2020
Mina Rajabi Paak, Graduate Studies	June 30,2020
John Wu, Osgoode	
Joe Marra	June 30,2021

Chairs of Senate Committees (estimated at 5)

Senate Appeals Committee

Academic Policy, Planning & Research

Lily Cho, Thomas Baumgartner, Tenure and Promotions Committee

Kim Michasiw, Academic Standards, Curriculum and Pedagogy Committee

Awards Committee

Other Members	Term End	
Franck vanBreugel, Chair of Senate	December 31, 20)19
Alison Macpherson, Vice- Chair of Senate	December 31, 20)19
Cheryl Underhill, Secretary of Senate		
Andrea Davis, Academic Colleague to the COU	June 30, 20)20
George Tourlakis, Senator Appointed to the Board of Govern	nors June 30, 20)21
David Mutimer, Senator Appointed to the Board of Governor	rs June 30, 20)20
Arthur Redding, YUFA		
Sonny Day, YUSA		

Devin Clancy, CUPE 3903
Paul Nguyen, Alumni Association
Alumni Association
John Amanatides, College of Masters
Darran Fernandez, University Registrar
Alice Pitt, Vice-Provost Academic
Lucy Fromowitz, Vice- Provost Students

June 30, 2022