

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Report to Senate at its Meeting of September 25, 2014

SUPPLEMENTAL REPORT WITH REVISIONS

FOR ACTION

1. Nominees for Election to Senate Committees and Other Positions

Senate Executive recommends the candidates listed below for nomination to Senate committees (non-Faculty-designated seats) for three-year terms beginning immediately and ending June 30, 2017. The Committee also recommends a six-month extension for the term of the incumbent Chair of Senate and nominates an individual to serve as Vice-Chair, with a term beginning immediately upon election and ending June 30, 2015.

The resignation of Professor Amir Asif to take up a decanal position at Concordia University has created a vacancy in the position of Vice-Chair. Professor Asif was in line to become the Chair of Senate on January 1, 2015, just four months from now. Senate Executive discussed options to ensure a successful leadership transition. After careful consideration, the Committee resolved to recommend at the September meeting that Senate approve a six-month extension of Professor Roxanne Mykitiuk's term as Chair to June 30, 2015. At the same time, it is important that a new Vice-Chair be elected as soon as possible to provide back-up and gain experience.

Nominations are also accepted from the floor of the Senate if the nominee has consented and is available for the published meeting time of the committee. Nominators must report prospective nominees to the Secretary prior to the start of the meeting at which slates are considered in order to determine their eligibility. Final approval for the slate of nominees is given by Senate on a motion "that nominations be closed" as moved by the Vice-Chair of Senate.

Senate Executive may transmit additional nominations prior to the Senate meeting of September 25.

Chair of Senate (6 month extension of term to June 30, 2015) Senate meets the further Thursday of each month from September to June at 3:00 p.m.; Senate Executive meets at 3:00 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month from September to June

Roxanne Mykitiuk, Professor Osgoode Hall Law School and incumbent Chair of Senate

Vice-Chair of Senate (1 vacancy, full-time faculty member; term as Vice-Chair to begin immediately and end June 30, 2015 followed by an 18-month term as Chair of Senate) Senate meets the further Thursday of each month from September to June at 3:00 p.m.; Senate Executive meets at 3:00 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month from September to June

George Comninel, Professor, Political Science, Liberal Arts and Professional Studies

Academic Standards, Curriculum and Pedagogy (3 vacancies, full-time faculty members) ASCP meets on Wednesdays at 1:30 p.m., normally twice monthly

Jennifer Steele, Associate Professor, Psychology, Health

Thomas Wesson, Associate Professor, Schulich

Tenure and Promotions (4 vacancies, full-time faculty members) *T&P meets in panels at Thursdays at 3:00 when Senate is not in session; members participate in the deliberations of committees constituted at the Faculty level*

Marie-Hélène Budworth, Associate Professor, Human Resource Management, LA&PS Nombuso Dlamini, Associate Professor, Education Bruce Ryder, Professor, Osgoode Suzie Young, Associate Professor, Film, Arts, Media, Performance and Design

Appeals (1 vacancy, full-time faculty member) Appeals meets in panels of 3 at the call of the Chair

Othon Alexandrakis, Assistant Professor, Anthropology, LA&PS

Roxanne Mykitiuk, Chair