Biography - Armand La Barge

OOM, SBStJ, BA, BAS (Hon), MA, LLD (Hon)

Armand La BargeChief (Ret) Armand P. La Barge was appointed to the Board of Governors on October 3, 2011 and serves as a member of the Governance and Human Resources and Marketing, Communications and Community Affairs Committees.

Chief La Barge began his career with York Regional Police in 1973.  In 2002, he was appointed Chief of Police, a position he held until his retirement in December 2010. During his tenure as Chief of Police, he served as President of the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police and the Ontario Director for the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police and a member of the First Nations Chiefs of Police Association.  He has been recognized with numerous awards for his community service, including the 2012 Black Business Professional Association Harry Jerome Award for Diversity, the Wilf Wilkinson Rotary Peace Award and the YMCA Peace Medallion.

Chief La Barge holds a Bachelor of Arts Honours degree and a Multiculturalism Studies Certificate from York University, an Honorary Bachelor of Applied Studies degree from Seneca College, a Masters degree from Trent University in Canadian and Native Studies and an Honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Guelph.  He is currently completing his Ph.D. at Charles Stuart University in Australia in Aboriginal Studies.

Chief La Barge is the Vice Chair of the St. John Council for Ontario, and a past member of the Canadian Community Living Foundation and the Herbert H. Carnegie Future Aces Foundation. He has served as Chair of the Uxbridge Public Library Board, Chair of St. John Ambulance York Region and was a charter member of the Rotary Club of Uxbridge.  He was the Chair of Special Olympics Ontario and is a member of the Special Olympics Hall of Fame.

Chief La Barge has been awarded the Police Exemplary Services Medal, the Queens Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals, and the Exemplary Service First Bar.  He is an Officer of the Order of Police Merit and a Member of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem.